f

Probieren Sie die beste uTorrent-Alternative für macOS Monterey aus

So lösen sie das uTorrent Monterey kompatibilitätsproblem

Der beliebteste Torrent-Client für Mac funktioniert seit zwei Jahren nicht mehr mit Catalina, und ist jetzt, da Monterey draußen ist, nicht mehr zurück. Schauen wir uns die besten Torrent-Clients für Mac an und achten wir auf die Monterey-Kompatibilität für jeden.

Top Wahl
Folx
4.7 Rang basierend auf 889+ Nutzer, Bewertungen(858)
Die beste Alternative zu uTorrent für macOS Monterey finden Sie in diesem Artikel.
Da es keine kompatible Version von uTorrent für macOS Monterey gibt, müssen wir eine App finden, die sie ersetzt. Es stehen mehrere zur Auswahl, z.B. qBittorrent, Deluge, Transmission und Folx. Jede Wahl hat ihre eigenen Vor- und Nachteile. Wir legen alles für Sie dar und beschreiben die Vor- und Nachteile jeder uTorrent-Alternative. Obwohl diese Apps alle dasselbe tun, machen es einige besser als andere.

Schauen Sie sich die beste Alternative zu uTorrent für macOS Monterey an

Folx logo
Folx
Anforderungen: OS X 10.9+. 36.87MB freier Speicherplatz. Ausführung 5.25.13974. (der 8. Mai, 2021). 4.7 Rang basierend auf 889+ Nutzer, Bewertungen(858)
Categorie: UtilitiesApplication

Wahrscheinlich die erste Wahl, wenn es um uTorrent-Alternativen oder einen Download-Manager für macOS Monterey geht, ist der Folx 5-Downloader.

Diese 100 % Malware-freie App erfordert macOS 10.9 oder höher.

Da es als 64-Bit-App verfügbar ist, ist Folx vollständig kompatibel mit Catalina, Big Sur und Monterey.

Es kann in Sekundenschnelle einen BitTorrent-Tracker finden, sodass Sie direkt zu den gesuchten Filmen gelangen. Außerdem bietet Folx 5 das Herunterladen mehrerer Threads, sodass Sie Ihre Bandbreite optimal nutzen können.

Folx 5 bietet eine sehr saubere, moderne Benutzeroberfläche. Es sieht aus und fühlt sich an wie die native Mac-App, die es ist. Folx enthält ein Plugin für Safari, Chrome, Firefox und Opera, das erkennt, wenn Sie versuchen, etwas herunterzuladen, und es von dort aus übernimmt.

Es arbeitet effizient mit dem DHT-Protokoll, das von vielen Torrents verwendet wird, um die Suche so effizient wie möglich zu gestalten. Und die Vollversion von Folx 5 ist frei von irritierender Adware. Der Folx 5-Downloader ist leicht vergleichbar mit ähnlichen Clients wie Vuze und Tixati und ist für alle Ihre Torrenting-Anforderungen gerüstet. Da Folx Ihre Downloads in zwei Threads aufteilt, um sie schneller abzurufen, ist dies nicht nur für Torrents geeignet.

Mit einem kostengünstigen PRO-Upgrade können Sie Folx 5 sogar verwenden, um YouTube-Videos herunterzuladen, Ihre Übertragungen zu planen und vieles mehr. Leider erfordern einige der besten Funktionen von Folx 5 das kostenpflichtige Upgrade. Mit der kostenlosen Version kann Ihr Download nur in 2 Threads aufgeteilt werden. Das ist nett, jedoch erlaubt die kostenpflichtige Version 20 Threads, eine ziemlich große Lücke.

Es gibt ein paar andere Nachteile. Der Menüleisten-Agent für Folx 5 ist ziemlich einfach und es fehlen viele Funktionen. Außerdem gibt es keine Ein-Klick-Option zum Löschen Ihres Download-Verlaufs.

Alles in allem kostet die PRO-Version nur 19.95$ für eine persönliche Lizenz oder 39.95$für ein Familienpaket.

Die kostenlosen und kostenpflichtigen Funktionen in Folx

Selbst in der kostenlosen Version bietet Folx die Funktionen, die Sie bei einem Torrent-Client für macOS Monterey suchen. Sie können wählen, ob Sie alles mit Folx herunterladen möchten, sogar in Ihrem Browser, oder Sie können auswählen. Die App bietet in der kostenlosen Version sogar Proxy-Download-Unterstützung, um Ihre Privatsphäre und Sicherheit zu schützen.

Wenn Ihr Download aus irgendeinem Grund unterbrochen wird, wird Folx ihn automatisch fortsetzen. Die App ist vollständig in Spotlight integriert und unterstützt das Herunterladen von Torrents und Magnetlinks.

Wenn Sie auf die PRO-Version upgraden, eröffnet sich eine ganz neue Welt an Funktionen. Die PRO-Version kann Ihren Download in bis zu 20 Threads aufteilen und Sie können Ihre Downloads planen. Folx 5 PRO lässt sich in Apple Music integrieren und passt die Download-Geschwindigkeit automatisch an die Nutzung Ihres Macs an. Sie können Folx 5 PRO auch verwenden, um YouTube-Videos herunterzuladen, und die App bietet Ihnen eine integrierte Torrent-Suchmaschine.

icon pros Vorteile:

  • Saubere, moderne Benutzeroberfläche, die sich wie eine native Mac-App anfühlt und so aussieht
  • Plugins für Safari, Chrome, Firefox und Opera, die Folx 5 zu einem vollständigen Download-Manager machen, nicht nur zu einem Torrent-Client
  • Teilt Übertragungen in Threads für schnellere Downloads auf.

icon cons Nachteile:

  • Die besten Funktionen erfordern ein PRO-Upgrade
  • Der Menüleisten-Agent hat nur begrenzten Nutzen
  • Keine Ein-Klick-Option zum Löschen des Download-Verlaufs.

Unterstütztes Betriebssystem: macOS

Preis: Kostenlos in der Basisversion, kostenpflichtiges Upgrade für 19.95$

Finden Sie andere uTorrent Mac Monterey-Alternativen

Andere Apps bieten ähnliche Funktionen. Sie könnten frustriert sein, wenn Sie zum ersten Mal die Meldung erhalten, dass uTorrent auf diesem Mac-Typ nicht unterstützt wird. Es gibt jedoch andere Möglichkeiten. Werfen wir einen Blick auf qBittorrent, Deluge und Transmission und wie gut sie als Alternative zu uTorrent Mac funktionieren.

Top Apps-Alternative zu uTorrent macOS Monterey

Scroll to view more
Swipe tip
Folx PRO
Folx PRO
Vuze
uTorrent Web
Deluge
Transmission
qBittorrent
BitTorrent Web
Tribler
BitLord
FrostWire
Free Download Manager
Priorisieren
Priorisieren
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Geschwindigkeitskontrolle
Geschwindigkeitskontrolle
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Tiefes Tuning
Tiefes Tuning
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Magnetlinks
Magnetlinks
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Torrent-Suche
Torrent-Suche
begrenzt  
begrenzt  
 
 
 
begrenzt  
begrenzt  
 
 
 
Erstellung von Torrent-Dateien
Erstellung von Torrent-Dateien
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Intelligentes Tagging
Intelligentes Tagging
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Apple Music-Integration
Apple Music-Integration
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Regelmäßige Downloads
Regelmäßige Downloads
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Native Schnittstelle
Native Schnittstelle
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
macOS 10.15+
macOS 10.15+
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$19.95
$19.95
$47.88/Jahr
kostenlos
kostenlos
kostenlos
kostenlos
kostenlos
kostenlos
kostenlos
kostenlos
kostenlos
Versuchen Sie Folx Torrent-Client für Mac
Arbeiten mit macOS 10.15+

qBittorrent

Erstens ist qBittorrent völlig kostenlos und Open Source. Die App hilft Ihnen, Ihre Inhalte herunterzuladen, und steht Ihnen dabei nicht im Weg. Die Benutzeroberfläche ist sauber und minimalistisch und die App selbst ist leichtgewichtig. Das Beste ist, dass Ihnen keine Werbung vor die Nase gesetzt wird.

Da die App von Freiwilligen entwickelt wird, gibt es nicht einmal eine kostenpflichtige Version. Wenn Sie die Entwicklung unterstützen möchten, können Sie den Freiwilligen Kryptowährung senden.

Mit qBittorrent verfügen Sie über eine integrierte Suchmaschine, mit der Sie Inhalte finden können. Leider müssen Sie das richtige Plugin für Ihre bevorzugte Torrent-Site finden. Mit dem Suchmaschinen-Plugin verpassen Sie außerdem die meiste Zeit die Benutzerkommentare. Dies macht das virenfreie Herunterladen der gewünschten Inhalte zu einer kniffligen Angelegenheit.

Sie erhalten auch andere kostenlose Funktionen. Sie können Bandbreitenbeschränkungen festlegen, damit Ihre Verbindung nicht blockiert wird, und Sie können Ihre Downloads in einer bestimmten Reihenfolge festlegen. Die aktuellste Version ist mit macOS Catalina, Big Sur und Monterey kompatibel.


Zusammenfassung des qBittorrent-Torrent-Clients:

icon pros Vorteile

  • Saubere, minimalistische Benutzeroberfläche und eine leichtgewichtige App
  • Keine Werbung
  • Eingebaute Suchmaschine zum Auffinden von Inhalten.

icon cons Nachteile

  • Die Verwendung der integrierten Suche erfordert das Finden des richtigen Plugins
  • Die integrierte Suchmaschine zeigt keine Benutzerkommentare an, was es schwierig macht, Downloads ohne Malware zu finden
  • Kein vollwertiger Download-Manager, nur ein Torrent-Client.

Unterstützte Betriebssysteme: macOS, Windows, Linux, FreeBSD, Haiku OS, OS/2

Preis: Kostenlos

Deluge

Deluge ist nicht so bekannt wie andere Torrent-Clients, hat aber viel zu bieten. Die App ist kostenlos und Open Source, und es gibt eine Reihe von Plugins, um den Funktionsumfang zu erweitern.

Mit den verschiedenen Plugins können Sie fast alles an Deluge anpassen. Es gibt Browser-Plugins für Chrome, Firefox und mehr. Deluge bietet eine kostenlose erweiterte Verschlüsselungsoption, die Datenschutz und Sicherheit fördert und verhindert, dass Ihr ISP erkennt, dass Sie eine Torrent-Site besuchen.

Wenn Sie Prioritäten für Ihre Downloads setzen möchten, können Sie dies mit Deluge tun. Leider sieht die App eher schlicht und veraltet aus. Der wirkliche Nachteil von Deluge ist, dass es wie eine verwaiste App aussieht. Das letzte Update ist mehr als 2 Jahre her und macOS-Pakete sind nie entstanden. Wenn Sie Deluge auf einem Mac installieren möchten, müssen Sie das Befehlszeilen-Software-Repository Homebrew verwenden.


Zusammenfassung des Deluge-Torrent-Clients:

icon pros Vorteile

  • Kostenlos und Open Source mit vielen Plugins zur Erweiterung des Funktionsumfangs
  • Keine Werbung
  • Kostenlose erweiterte Verschlüsselungsoption, um zu verhindern, dass andere wissen, dass Sie eine Torrent-Site besuchen.

icon cons Nachteile

  • Schlichte, eher veraltete Oberfläche
  • Keine Updates seit mehr als 2 Jahren
  • Keine macOS-Installationspakete, daher müssen Sie über das Befehlszeilen-Software-Repository Homebrew installieren.

Unterstützte Betriebssysteme: macOS, Windows, Linux, FreeBSD

Preis: Kostenlos

Transmission

Kommen wir nun zu Transmission, einem der am häufigsten verwendeten Torrent-Clients. Ursprünglich auf macOS und Linux beschränkt, fand die App schließlich auch ihren Weg zu Windows. Die App ist funktionsreich und dennoch leichtgewichtig, außerdem ist sie Open Source und kann kostenlos heruntergeladen werden.

Transmission ist mit macOS 10.10 und höher kompatibel und läuft gut auf Monterey. Die App unterstützt Verschlüsselung, geplante Downloads, Fernverwaltung und IP-Filterung. Transmission bietet sehr schnelle Download-Geschwindigkeiten, manchmal schneller als andere Torrent-Clients.

Wie Folx 5 ermöglicht Transmission, Dateien von mehreren Peers gleichzeitig herunterzuladen und Ihre Upload- / Download-Geschwindigkeiten zu begrenzen, um Ihre Verbindung nicht zu blockieren. Es gibt eine Reihe von Add-Ons, die die App noch nützlicher machen, darunter ein Plugin, das unter Torrent-Clients ziemlich einzigartig ist und das Herunterladen von Mediendateien auf einen Kodi-Heimkinoserver erleichtert.

Leider verfügt Transmission nicht über eine eigene integrierte Suchmaschine und der App fehlt die Unterstützung für Proxyserver.


Zusammenfassung des transmission-Torrent-Clients:

icon pros Vorteile

  • Kostenlos, leichtgewichtig und funktionsreich
  • Unterstützt Verschlüsselung und geplante Downloads
  • Mehrere verfügbare Add-Ons machen die App nicht nur für Torrents nützlich.

icon cons Nachteile

  • Keine eingebaute Suchmaschine
  • Unterstützt nicht die Verwendung eines Proxy-Servers.

Unterstützte Betriebssysteme: macOS, Windows, Linux, FreeBSD, eingebettete Systeme

Preis: Kostenlos

Warum der uTorrent-Client für Mac nicht mit macOS Monterey ausgeführt werden kann

Seit Apple die Unterstützung für 32-Bit-Apps eingestellt hat, ist uTorrent für Mac-Nutzer tot. Das ist mit macOS 10.15 Catalina passiert und hat bei den Benutzern einer Reihe von Apps Chaos angerichtet. Zwei Jahre später gibt es immer noch Spiele und andere Apps für den Mac, die nicht laufen, weil es keine 64-Bit Version gibt.

Im Jahr 2018 verlangte Apple, dass alle Apps im macOS App Store das 64-Bit-Format verwenden. Dies ist sehr sinnvoll, da 64-Bit-Apps schneller laufen und auf mehr Systemspeicher zugreifen können.

Aus irgendeinem Grund haben die Entwickler von uTorrent nie den Wechsel zur 64-Bit-Programmierung für den Mac vollzogen. Das bedeutet, dass seit 2019 beim Versuch, uTorrent auf einem modernen Mac auszuführen, die Meldung "uTorrent wird auf diesem Mac-Typ nicht unterstützt" angezeigt wird.


uTorrent Web – eine Alternative zu uTorrent Classic.


Anstatt eine 64-Bit-Version von uTorrent für Mac zu entwickeln, haben die Entwickler uTorrent Web für Mac vorangetrieben. Dieses Plugin ist jedoch eher für das Abspielen von Torrents in Ihrem Browser ausgelegt. Natürlich können Sie sie auch herunterladen. Sie haben jedoch nicht annähernd die Kontrolle über Ihre Downloads, die tatsächliche Torrent-Client-Apps bieten.

Torrent-Client für Mac Monterey auswählen

Konzentrieren Sie sich bei der Suche nach der besten uTorrent-Alternative auf dem Mac darauf, was die App tun soll. Torrent-Clients sind nett, aber schauen Sie über das Problem hinaus, dass uTorrent nicht auf dem Mac funktioniert. Die meisten Leute laden nicht nur von Torrents herunter, daher ist es wichtig, einen vollwertigen Download-Manager zu verwenden, nicht nur einen Torrent-Client.

Ihre beste Option für eine uTorrent-Alternative für Mac hilft dabei, alle Ihre Internet-Downloads zu beschleunigen. Sie ermöglicht Ihnen, Downloads zu Zeiten zu planen, in denen Sie Ihre Internetverbindung nicht wirklich nutzen. Eine weitere Funktion, die manche vielleicht vergessen, ist die Arbeit mit Apple Music. Ein ausgezeichneter Download-Manager sorgt dafür, dass Mediendateien automatisch in Ihrer Apple Music-Bibliothek angezeigt werden.


Da uTorrent Classic eine 32-Bit-Anwendung ist, sollten Sie den alternativen Torrent-Client für macOS Monterey wählen.


Das einfache Speichern von YouTube-Videos für die Offline-Nutzung ist ein weiteres wichtiges Merkmal. Einfache Torrent-Clients bieten dies nicht an, suchen Sie also nach einem, der dies tut.

Schließlich Torrents selbst. Denken Sie zunächst daran, dass Torrents nicht illegal sind, solange Sie kein urheberrechtlich geschütztes Material herunterladen oder teilen. Stellen Sie außerdem sicher, dass Sie Ihre Downloads auf Malware scannen. Sie möchten einen Client, der sowohl Torrent- als auch Magnetlinks unterstützt. Wenn die App eine integrierte Suchmaschine bietet, ist das nur das i-Tüpfelchen.

FAQs zu uTorrent funktioniert nicht auf dem Mac


uTorrent funktioniert leider nicht auf Mac Monterey, und uTorrent funktioniert auf Big Sur auch nicht. Sie können jedoch eine der Optionen verwenden, die wir uns angesehen haben, z.B. Folx für uTorrent unter Mac Monterey , sowie eine Reihe anderer großartiger Funktionen nutzen.
Wie bereits erwähnt, funktioniert uTorrent nicht auf macOS Monterey, und Sie können auch nicht auf Mac Catalina. Sofern Sie nicht die Browserversion von uTorrent verwenden möchten, benötigen Sie Software von Drittanbietern wie Folx, um Torrents herunterzuladen.
uTorrent bietet keine aktuelle herunterladbare App für uTorrent 64 bit Mac. Sie können weiterhin die Browserversion verwenden, auf die sich jetzt die meiste Aufmerksamkeit richtet.
Wir empfehlen Folx als ideale uTorrent-Alternative für Monterey. Die App ist 100% Mac Monterey-kompatibel und wird mit einer großen Auswahl an Tools und Funktionen geliefert, die sie zur perfekten Wahl für alle machen, die Torrent auf dem Mac suchen.
Folx
Anforderungen: OS X 10.9+ , 36.87MB Größe
Ausführung 5.25.13974 (der 8. Mai, 2021) Versionshinweise
Categorie: UtilitiesApplication

f

Try the best uTorrent alternative for macOS Monterey

How to solve uTorrent Monterey compatibility issue

The most popular torrent client for Mac stopped working two years ago with Catalina and isn’t back now that Monterey is out. Let’s look at the best torrent clients for Mac, paying attention to Monterey compatibility for each one.

Top choice
Folx
4.7 Rank based on 889+ users, Reviews(858)
The best alternative to uTorrent for macOS Monterey you can find in this article.
Since there’s no compatible version of uTorrent for macOS Monterey, we need to find an app to replace it. There are several to choose from, such as qBittorrent, Deluge, Transmission, and Folx. Each choice has its own pros and cons. We’ll lay it all out for you, detailing the good and bad for each uTorrent alternative. Even though these apps all do the same thing, some do it better than others.

Look at the best alternative to uTorrent for macOS Monterey

Folx logo
Folx
Requirements: OS X 10.9+. 36.87MB free space. Version 5.25.13974. (8 May, 2021). 4.7 Rank based on 889+ users, Reviews(858)
Category: UtilitiesApplication

Probably the top choice when it comes to uTorrent alternatives or a download manager for macOS Monterey is the Folx 5 downloader.

This 100% malware-free app requires macOS 10.9 or later. Since it’s available as a 64-bit app, Folx is fully compatible with Catalina, Big Sur, and Monterey.

It can find a BitTorrent tracker in seconds, letting you get straight to the movies you’re looking for. Plus Folx 5 features multiple thread downloading, letting you get the most out of your bandwidth.

Folx 5 features a very clean, modern user interface. It looks and feels like the one of the native Mac apps that it is. Folx includes a plugin for Safari, Chrome, Firefox, and Opera that detects when you’re trying to download something and takes it from there.

It works efficiently with the DHT protocol used by many torrents to make searches as efficient as possible. And the full version of Folx 5 is free of any irritating adware. Easily the match of similar clients like Vuze and Tixati, the Folx 5 downloader is equipped to handle all your torrenting needs. Since Folx splits your downloads into two threads to help retrieve them faster, this is great for more than just torrents.

With an inexpensive PRO upgrade, you can even use Folx 5 to download YouTube videos, schedule your transfers, and more. Unfortunately, some of the best features of Folx 5 require the paid upgrade. With the free version, your download can only be split into 2 threads. Nice, but the paid version allows 20 threads, a pretty wide gap.

There are a couple other downsides. The menu bar agent for Folx 5 is pretty basic, lacking a lot of functionality. Also, there’s no one-click option to clear your download history.

All that said, the PRO version only costs $19.95 for a personal license or $39.95 for a family pack.

The free and paid features in Folx

Even in its free version, Folx has the features you look for in a torrent client for macOS Monterey. You can choose to download everything with Folx even in your browser, or you can pick and choose. The app even includes proxy download support in the free version, for protecting your privacy and security.

If your download gets interrupted for some reason, Folx will automatically resume it. The app is fully integrated with Spotlight and supports downloading torrents and magnet links.

When you upgrade to the PRO version, a whole new world of features open up. The PRO version can split your download into as many as 20 threads, and you can schedule your downloads. Folx 5 PRO integrates with Apple Music and automatically adjusts download speed based on your Mac’s usage. You can also use Folx 5 PRO to download YouTube videos, and the app provides you with a built-in torrent search engine.

icon pros Pros

  • Clean, modern UI that looks and feels like a native Mac app
  • Plugins for Safari, Chrome, Firefox, and Opera that make Folx 5 a complete download manager, not just a torrent client
  • Splits transfers into threads for faster downloads.

icon cons Cons

  • Best features require a PRO upgrade
  • Menu bar agent has only limited usefulness
  • No one-click option to clear download history.

Supported OS: macOS

Price: Free for basic version, paid upgrade from $19.95

Find other uTorrent Mac Monterey alternatives

Other apps offer similar features. You might be frustrated when you first get the message that uTorrent is not supported on this type of Mac. There are other options, though. Let’s take a look at qBittorrent, Deluge, and Transmission and how well each performs as an alternative to uTorrent Mac.

Top Apps Alternative to uTorrent macOS Monterey

Scroll to view more
Swipe tip
Folx PRO
Folx PRO
Vuze
uTorrent Web
Deluge
Transmission
qBittorrent
BitTorrent Web
Tribler
BitLord
FrostWire
Free Download Manager
Prioritizing
Prioritizing
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Speed control
Speed control
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Deep tuning
Deep tuning
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Magnet links
Magnet links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Torrent search
Torrent search
limited  
limited  
 
 
 
limited  
limited  
 
 
 
Torrent files creation
Torrent files creation
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Smart tagging
Smart tagging
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Apple Music integration
Apple Music integration
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Regular downloads
Regular downloads
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Native interface
Native interface
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
macOS 10.15+
macOS 10.15+
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$19.95
$19.95
$47.88/year
free
free
free
free
free
free
free
free
free
Try Folx torrent client for Mac
Working with macOS 10.15+

qBittorrent

First, qBittorrent is completely free and open-source. It helps you download your content, and it doesn’t get in the way. The interface is clean and minimalist and the app itself is lightweight. Best of all, it doesn’t throw ads up in your face. Since it’s developed by volunteers, it doesn’t even have a paid version. If you want to support its development, you can send the volunteers cryptocurrency.

With qBittorrent, you have a built-in search engine that lets you find content. Unfortunately, you have to find the right plugin for your preferred torrent site. Using the search engine plugin, you also miss out on the user comments most of the time. This makes downloading what you want virus-free a tricky proposition.

You get other free features, too. You can set bandwidth limitations to keep from bogging down your connection, and you can set your downloads in a certain order. The most current version is compatible with macOS Catalina, Big Sur, and Monterey.


qBittorrent torrent client summary:

icon pros Pros

  • Clean, minimalist UI and a lightweight app
  • No ads to deal with
  • Built-in search engine to find content.

icon cons Cons

  • Using built-in search requires finding the right plugin
  • Built-in search engine doesn’t show user comments, making it tricky to find malware-free downloads
  • Not a full-fledged download manager, just a torrent client.

Supported OS: macOS, Windows, Linux, FreeBSD, Haiku OS, OS/2

Price: Free

Deluge

Deluge isn’t well-known like other torrent clients, but it has plenty to offer. The app is free and open-source, and there are a number of plugins to extend its feature set.

Using the different plugins, you can customize almost everything about Deluge. There are browser plugins for Chrome, Firefox, and more. Deluge offers a free enhanced encryption option that promotes privacy and security, keeping your ISP from figuring out that you’re visiting a torrent site.

If you want to set priorities for your downloads, Deluge lets you do that. Unfortunately, the app looks rather plain and outdated. The real downside to Deluge is that it looks like an abandoned app. The last update was more than 2 years ago, and macOS packages never came to be. If you want to install Deluge on a Mac, you’ll have to use the command-line software repository Homebrew.


Deluge torrent client summary:

icon pros Pros

  • Free and open-source, with plenty of plugins to extend its feature set
  • No ads to deal with
  • Free enhanced encryption option to prevent others from know you’re visiting a torrent site.

icon cons Cons

  • Plain, rather outdated interface
  • No updates in more than 2 years
  • No macOS install packages, so you must install via command-line software repository Homebrew.

Supported OS: macOS, Windows, Linux, FreeBSD

Price: Free

Transmission

Now we come to Transmission, one of the most widely-used torrent clients available. Originally limited to macOS and Linux, the app ultimately made its way to Windows, as well. It’s feature-packed and yet lightweight, and it’s also open-source and free to download.

Transmission is compatible with macOS 10.10 and higher, and runs well on Monterey. It supports encryption, scheduled downloads, remote management, and IP filtering. Transmission provides very fast download speeds, sometimes faster than other torrent clients.

Like Folx 5, Transmission makes it possible to download files from multiple peers at once and cap your upload/download speeds to keep from bogging down your connection. There are a number of add-ons to make the app even more useful, including a plugin that’s fairly unique among torrent clients, one to ease downloading media files into a Kodi home theater server.

Unfortunately, Transmission doesn’t have its own built-in search engine, and the app lacks proxy server support.


Transmission torrent client summary:

icon pros Pros

  • Free, lightweight, and feature-packed
  • Supports encryption and scheduled downloads
  • Several available add-ons make it useful for more than just torrents.

icon cons Cons

  • No built-in search engine
  • Does not support using a proxy server.

Supported OS: macOS, Windows, Linux, FreeBSD, embedded systems

Price: Free

Why uTorrent client for Mac can't run with macOS Monterey

Ever since Apple cut support for 32-bit apps, uTorrent has been dead in the water for Mac users. That happened with macOS 10.15 Catalina, and it wreaked havoc with users for a number of apps. Two years later, there are still games and other apps for the Mac that won’t run because they aren’t 64-bit.

In 2018, Apple began requiring any apps in the macOS App Store to use the 64-bit format. It makes a lot of sense, since 64-bit apps run faster and can access more of the system memory.

For whatever reason, the developers behind uTorrent never made the move to 64-bit programming for the Mac. That means that, since 2019, trying to run uTorrent on a modern Mac met with a message that "uTorrent is not supported on this type of Mac".


uTorrent Web – an alternative to uTorrent Classic.


Rather than building a 64-bit version of uTorrent for Mac, the developers have pushed uTorrent Web for Mac. That plugin, though, is designed more for playing torrents in your browser. Sure, it will allow you to download them, too. You don’t have nearly the amount of control over your downloads that actual torrent client apps offer, though.

Choosing torrent client for Mac Monterey

When looking for the best uTorrent alternative on Mac, focus on what you want the app to do. Torrent clients are nice, but look beyond the problem of uTorrent not working on Mac. Most people download from more than just torrents, so it’s important to use a full-fledged download manager, not just a torrent client.

Your best option for a uTorrent alternative for Mac will help speed up all of your Internet downloads. It will allow you to schedule downloads for times when you aren’t really using your Internet connection. Another feature some might forget is working with Apple Music. An excellent download manager will make sure media files automatically show up in your Apple Music library.


Since uTorrent Classic is a 32-bit application, you should choose the alternative torrent client for macOS Monterey.


Being able to easily save YouTube videos for offline use is another crucial feature. Simple torrent clients don’t offer this, so look for one that does.

Finally, torrents themselves. First, make sure you remember that torrents aren’t illegal, as long as you don’t download or share copyrighted material. Also, be sure you scan your downloads for malware. You want a client that supports both torrent and magnet links. If the app provides a built-in search engine, that’s just the icing on the cake.

FAQs concerning uTorrent not working Mac


Unfortunately, uTorrent does not work on Mac Monterey, and you can’t uTorrent Big Sur. However, you can use one of the options we’ve looked at such as Folx for uTorrent for Mac Monterey, as well as enjoy a number of other great features.
As we’ve already mentioned, uTorrent does not work on macOS Monterey, and you can’t uTorrent Mac Catalina either. Unless you want to use the browser version of uTorrent, you’re going to need to get third-party software such as Folx to download torrents.
uTorrent is no longer providing an actual uTorrent 64 bit Mac downloadable app. You can still use their browser version, which is where they’re directing most of their attention now.
We recommend Folx as the ideal uTorrent alternative for Monterey. It’s 100% Mac Monterey compatible and comes with a wide selection of tools and features that make it the perfect choice for anyone looking to torrent on Mac.
Folx
Requirements: OS X 10.9+ , 36.87MB size
Version 5.25.13974 (8 May, 2021) Release notes
Category: UtilitiesApplication